where tomorrow’s science begins today
An Autonomous Institution, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India
About Us
Internal Leadership 

IISER Pune believes in operating on collective wisdom and active participation of all stakeholders.
Various committees steer the development and execution of the institute's activities, in keeping with IISER Pune's Vision. The committees are periodically reconstituted to widen participation, bring in new ideas and develop leadership.
The institute follows the following policy regarding internal leadership:
  1. The term of office for Chairs of Departments, Deans, Deputy Chairs, Associate Deans is for 3 years.
  2. There is a Deputy Chair for each of the departments existing for 5 years or more.
  3. The Director appoints the Chairs/Deputy Chairs through consultations with faculty members of respective departments. These appointments are NOT based on seniority or any hierarchy. A second term is possible for the holders of these posts in exceptional cases.
  4. The sharing of various administrative responsibilities in each department is worked out jointly by the Chair and the Deputy Chair.
  5. As far as possible, the operative policy is one-person-one post. Certain exceptions may be allowed.
  6. In terms of the membership, every attempt is made to give representation across the departments in various committees.
  7. All faculty members are encouraged to accept memberships and responsibilities of the committees, as we believe that all beneficiaries are obliged to contribute in the functioning of the institute.
Following is a list of the committees that direct the various activities of IISER Pune, along with their current members:
  • APEX Committee (This committee comprised of senior professors of the institute, takes major institute/academic policy decisions including appointment of distinguished / visiting faculty, etc)
  1. Prof. Jayant B. Udgaonkar, Director (Ex-officio) - Chairperson
  2. Prof. Pinaki Talukdar, Dean (Faculty) - Member
  3. Prof. Anjan Banerjee, Dean (R&D); Chair, Institutional Committee on Administration (ICA) - Member
  4. Prof. Bhas Bapat, Dean (Academics) - Member
  5. Prof. Harinath Chakrapani, Dean (International Relations and Outreach) - Member
  6. Prof. Saikrishnan Kayarat, Dean (Student and Campus Activities) - Member
  7. Prof. Srinivas Hotha, Dean (Planning and Communications) - Member
  8. Prof. Thomas Pucadyil, Chair, Biology - Member
  9. Prof. Gopi Hosahudya N., Chair, Chemistry - Member
  10. Prof. Amit Apte, Chair, Data Science - Member
  11. Dr. Devapriya Chattopadhyay, Chair, Earth and Climate Science - Member
  12. Dr. Pushkar Sohoni, Chair, Humanities & Social Sciences - Member
  13. Prof. Mainak Poddar, Chair, Mathematics - Member
  14. Prof. Tarun Souradeep, Chair, Physics - Member
  15. Mr. Manoj Chaudhari, PS to Director - Non-memeber Secretary
  • Department-wise Chairs and Deputy Chairs:
Biology - Chair: Prof. Thomas Pucadyil; Deputy Chair: Dr. Sudha Rajamani
Chemistry - Chair: Prof. Gopi Hoshahudya N; Deputy Chair: Dr. Shabana Khan
Data Science - Chair: Prof. Amit Apte; Deputy Chair: Dr. Leelavati Narlikar
Earth and Climate Science - Chair: Dr. Devapriya Chattopadhyay; Deputy Chair: Dr. Gyana Ranjan Tripathy
Humanities and Social Sciences - Chair: Dr. Pushkar Sohoni; Deputy Chair: Dr. Chaitra Redkar
Mathematics - Chair: Prof. Mainak Poddar;  Co-Chair: Dr. Anup Biswas
Physics - Chair: Prof. Tarun Souradeep; Deputy Chair: Prof. T. S. Mahesh
  • Deans (See our Deans page for Details)           
Research and Development: Prof. Anjan Banerjee; Associate Dean: Dr. Nirmalya Ballav
Academics: Prof. Bhas Bapat
Associate Deans (Graduate Studies): Dr. Anirban Hazra; Dr. Arijit Bhattacharyay
Associate Deans (Doctoral Studies): Dr. Srabanti Chaudhury; Dr. Chandrasheel Bhagwat
Faculty: Prof. Pinaki Talukdar
International Relations and Outreach: Prof. Harinath Chakrapani; Associate Dean: Dr. Sourabh Dube
Student and Campus Activities: Prof. Saikrishnan Kayarat; Associate Dean: Dr. Chaitra Redkar
Planning and Communications: Prof. Srinivas Hotha
  • Key Committees and Faculty Incharge
Chair, Curriculum Committee: Dr. Anirban Hazra
Chair, Purchase Committee: Prof. R. Boomi Shankar
Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO) [Part-time]: Prof. V. G. Anand (cvo[at]iiserpune.ac.in)
Chair, Institutional Committee on Administration: Prof. Srinivas Hotha
Faculty In-charge, Science Media Centre: Dr. Arnab Mukherjee
Faculty In-charge, Science Activity Centre: Dr. Aparna Deshpande