where tomorrow’s science begins today
An Autonomous Institution, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India
News & Events

Dr. Sudarshan Ananth gets B. M. Birla Award  Nov 07, 2017

Dr. Sudarshan Ananth, Associate Professor of Physics at IISER Pune, has won the B. M. Birla Science Prize in Physics for the year 2016.

Dr Sudarshan AnanthThe Prize was instituted by the B. M. Birla Science Centre in Hyderabad in the year 1990 and is given for outstanding contributions by Indian scientists less than 40 years of age in the areas of Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and Biology. Former recipients of the Prize from IISER Pune include Prof. K. N. Ganesh, Prof. Satish Ogale and Prof. Jayant Udgaonkar. Dr. Sudarshan Ananth’s name is among the list of winners for the years 2015 and 2016 that was announced earlier this week by the B. M. Birla Science Centre.

Dr. Ananth, who works at the interface of General Relativity (Gravity) and Quantum Mechanics, has headed the Max Planck Partner Group in Quantum Field Theory at IISER Pune from 2009 to 2013. The B. M. Birla Prize adds to his previous awards which include the INSA Young Scientist Medal, the N. S. Satya Murthy Memorial Award and the Buti Foundation Award (Indian Physics Association) among others. You can read more about his publications and academic background here

We congratulate Dr. Sudarshan Ananth on his achievement and wish him further success!