where tomorrow’s science begins today
An Autonomous Institution, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India
News & Events

Prof Sulabha Kulkarni on Standing Committee for Promoting Women in Science  May 03, 2016

IISER Pune faculty Prof Sulabha Kulkarni has been nominated as member of a Standing Committee constituted by the Ministry for Science and Technology (S&T) for promoting women in the field of science.  
Prof Sulabha Kulkarni
The Committee is chaired by Prof HS Savithri from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and has representatives from various disciplines of S&T from all parts of the country. The Committee is mandated to take proactive measures to identify and rectify imbalances that presently hamper the careers of women scientists and technologists. The group will recommend measures to foster and support women in science to ensure equitable career growth. It will also attempt to create enabling work environment for women in S&T institutes and monitor the implementation of its recommendations.
Prof Kulkarni, who specialises in nanoscience and nanotechnology, is one of the 18 members of this Committee. She has pioneered a course on nanotechnology at the University of Pune, where she was a professor of Physics for over 30 years. She has written a number of popular science books and articles and has been very active in public outreach and science communication.
We congratulate Prof Kulkarni on her appointment and wish her the best for this endeavour.