where tomorrow’s science begins today
An Autonomous Institution, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India
News & Events

SERB Distinguished Investigator Award to Two IISER Pune Scientists  Apr 06, 2019

Dr. Shouvik Datta (Physics) and Dr. Pinaki Talukdar (Chemistry) have been selected for the Distinguished Investigator Award (DIA) given by Department of Science and Technology (DST)’s Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB).

This one-time career award recognises Principal Investigators of SERB projects that have performed well. Scientists whose completed SERB/DST projects in the previous financial year have been rated as excellent are eligible for DIA and the application is by invitation only. Eligible Principal Investigators are identified by SERB and invited to apply once a year. Each eligible Principal Investigator can also opt for a research grant, which is subject to submission of a research proposal and its acceptance by SERB. A selection committee evaluates the completed projects in terms of quality of work done, output and potential impact to select awardees.
Dr. Shouvik Datta
Dr. Shouvik Datta
Dr. Pinaki Talukda
Dr.Pinaki Talukdar

Dr. Datta, Associate Professor in Physics at IISER Pune, works on semiconductor physics and optoelectronics. His SERB project on Dielectric response of a lasing medium in the frequency domain was graded excellent, which enabled him to apply for DIA on invitation from SERB. You can learn more about his work here.

Associate Professor in Chemistry, Dr. Talukdar studies supramolecular chemistry in lipid membranes, synthetic organic and medicinal chemistry. His research is at the intersection of organic synthesis, supramolecular chemistry and biology. You can learn more about Dr. Talukdar's work here.
DIA comes with a monthly fellowship amount given for three years. Dr. Pinaki Talukdar and Dr. Shouvik Datta were among twelve scientists in the DIA list announced in June 2018. Their fellowship will run from April 2019 to March 2022. 

Congratulations and best wishes to Dr. Shouvik Datta and Dr. Pinaki Talukdar on their achievement.