NAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-1

SIRT1 belongs to NAD+ dependent Class III of histone deacetylases and functions as a regulator of p53 via its deacetylation activity (PMID: 11672523). It is involved in the formation of facultative heterochromatin (PMID: 15469825). SIRT1 is reported to repress forkhead proteins like Foxo3a and has implications in the aging process (PMID: 14980222). It is also shown to control the functioning of the androgen receptor (PMID: 16923962). Deleted in Breast Cancer-1 (DBC1) protein is known to negatively regulate SIRT1 (PMID: 18235501). In colon carcinomas, levels of SIRT1 decreases below normal levels (PMID: 19433578). It also negatively regulates Tip60 mediated acetylation of H2A.X, thus controlling DNA damage response (PMID: 19895790). SIRT1 mRNA as well as protein levels are downregulated significantly during differentiation of human embryonic stem cells (PMID: 20631301). SIRT1 along with SUV39H1 is reported to mediate silencing of rDNA locus in response to energy deficient conditions, thus playing a crucial role in energy homeostasis inside the cell (PMID: 18485871).

Download table as Excel
NAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-1 (hSIRT1) infosheet
UniprotKB AccessionQ96EB6
Alternative Name(s)SIR2-like protein 1 (hSIR2)
Eraser for PTM/s H4K16ac, H3K9ac, H1K25ac
EC number 3.5.1.-
No. of coding genesNAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-1 is coded by following 1 non-allelic gene/s
Gene namesirtuin 1
Gene symbolSIRT1
Promoter region (-700 TSS +300)Get sequence
Previous Symbol/s
Chromosomal location10q21
RefSeq mRNANM_001142498.1NM_012238.4
RefSeq ProteinNP_001135970.1NP_036370.2
Disease associations
Cancer: Colon carcinomas; PMID: 19433578
Cancer: Gastric cardiac carcinoma; PMID: 21865267
Cancer: Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC); PMID: 21567102
Cancer: Breast carcinoma; PMID: 21056897
Cancer: Colon carcinomas; PMID: 19433578

Lysine deacetylases Histone deacetylase 1, Histone deacetylase 10, Histone deacetylase 11, Histone deacetylase 2, Histone deacetylase 3, Histone deacetylase 4, Histone deacetylase 5, Histone deacetylase 6, Histone deacetylase 7, Histone deacetylase 8, Histone deacetylase 9, NAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-1, NAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-2, NAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-3, mitochondrial, NAD-dependent deacetylase sirtuin-6